top of page

Fasting Day 6 - January 15 - to be filled with power and purpose



Psalm 61:3 & 5: For you have been my refuge, a strong tower against the foe. For you, God, have heard my vows; you have given me the heritage of those who fear your name.


Psalm 92:11: My eyes have seen the defeat of my adversaries; my ears have heard the rout of my wicked foes.


Romans 15:13: May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.


As we near the end of the first week of fasting, you may be tired. You may be wondering how you will be able to fast for two more weeks. It reminds me of how often in life we feel tired. Physically tired, spiritually tired, emotionally tired. We have so many things pulling at our time and making us tired. Our daily task lists just seem to get longer and longer with less and less time for rest. Do you ever have those days where you just feel completely drained? Like you have nothing left to give? I often ask myself, “How can I fulfill the purpose God has for me when I feel like I have no more to give?” The answer is simple. God’s Word, the Bible.


Jesus tells us in John 15:1-4, “I am the vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful… Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.”


It takes discipline to keep our devotions at the top of the priority list. Especially, when there are so many other things fighting to be at the top of the list. The Bible is very clear though, in that if we are to bear fruit we must stay connected to the vine. He will prune us to bear fruit and cut off what is not bearing fruit for His purpose. God does have a plan and a purpose for each and every one of us. We must remain in Him to be filled with the power of the Holy Spirit. If we put God first and stay connected to Him, He will give us the strength and power to do the tasks He has set before us.


reflect:


• What areas of your life are not bearing fruit and can be pruned?

• Where will you find more time in your schedule to stay connected to the Vine?


prayer:


Father God, I pray for You to help me stay connected to the Vine. Lord, I desire You in every aspect of my life. Please prune off the things that are not important and get in the way of my time with You. I know that I can only fulfill your purpose for me by being filled with Your Holy Spirit.


journal:


Take the time as you pray and worship today to write down anything that you sense the Spirit speaking to your heart.


Listen to and let the words of this song become your prayer today.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

(352) 316-0903

423 Co Rd 21, Hawthorne, FL 32640, USA

  • Google Places

©2022 by Crossroads of Grace. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page